The opening match will be held at Moscow's 81,000-seater Luzhniki Arena and will kick off at 6pm local time (1:00am AEST).

The host nation will also face Egypt and Uruguay in their other two Group A games.

Russia will host its first-ever FIFA World Cup from June 14 to July 15, with the matches set to be held at 12 arenas in 11 cities across the country.