The 39-year-old, who has been capped 141 times for his country since his international debut in 1997, is the only player to have captained his national team at four consecutive World Cups and is set to become the third player in history to play at five tournaments.

Only Marquez's fellow Mexican Antonio Carbajal and Germany's Lothar Matthaus achieved the feat before him.

Mexico's final squad includes:

Goalkeepers: Jose Corona, Alfredo Talavera, Guillermo Ochoa;

Defenders: Edson Alvarez, Hugo Ayala, Jesus Gallardo, Miguel Layun, Hector Moreno, Diego Reyes, Carlos Salcedo;

Midfielders: Jonathan dos Santos, Marco Fabian, Andres Guardado, Hector Herrera, Rafael Marquez;

Forwards: Javier Aquino, Jesus Corona, Giovani dos Santos, Javier Hernandez, Raul Jimenez, Hirving Lozano, Oribe Peralta, Carlos Vela.

The FIFA World Cup will be held in Russia from June 14 to July 15. Mexico have been drawn in Group F alongside reigning champions Germany, Sweden and South Korea.