Earlier this month, the shortlist was pushed backĀ as Deloitte, the consulting company examining the bids and advising FFA, sought additional information from a number of the groups.

There will be 10 teams, originally meant to be eight, vying for the two spots up for grabs with Gold Coast United, West Adelaide (Adelaide II),Ā Belgravia Leisure, Tasmania and Fremantle City missing out.Ā 

FFA intends to grant licences for two new clubs to join the Hyundai A-League in the season after next, 2019-20.Ā 

The ultimate aim of the process is to identify two bids with the strongest potential for establishing clubs with long-term sustainability.Ā 

"FFA's job is to get the best outcome for the Hyundai A-League and football as a whole," FFA Chief Executive David Gallop said.

"That means granting licences that will complement the existing Hyundai A-League clubs, link back into fans and the football history in their local community, help to develop football pathways for more players, increase interest from sponsors and broadcasters, have solid financial backing and operate sustainably," he added.

Chairman of the West Adelaide bid, Andy Haralampopoulos has said the bid was not shortlisted dueĀ to it not being in the desired geographic area.

FFA does not want a second Adelaide team at this time, however, they are strong candidates for next expansion when A-League goes to 14.

10 shortlisted teams for A-League expansion:

United for Macarthur (Campbelltown)

South-Western Sydney FC

Southern Expansion (Sutherland, St George andĀ Wollongong)

Wollongong WolvesĀ 

Team 11 (Dandenong)

Western Melbourne (Geelong)

South MelbourneĀ 

Western Pride (Ipswich)

Canberra & Capital Region

Brisbane City