The six-match tournament involving representative teams from Australia, Laos and Malaysia will be played from 6 to 16 October 2009, with the top nation progressing to the AFC U-16 Championship 2010.  Other countries hosting AFC U-16 Championship 2010 qualifying groups are China, Nepal, Thailand, Yemen and the United Arab Emirates.

Interim Qantas Joeys Head Coach Jean Paul de Marigny has also selected a squad of 29 players who are currently attending a training camp at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra until 16 July as the first stage of preparations for the AFC U-16 Championship (Qualifiers).

The AFC U-16 Championship 2010 will dates and venue will be determined later this year.

The following are at this month's training camp:

Alex BAIRD (Derby County, England), Corey BROWN (QAS/Brisbane City FC), Alex CERRUTO (NSWIS/Marconi Stallions), Connor CHAPMAN (NSWIS/Sutherland Sharks), Samuel CHAPPLE (NSWIS/Sutherland Sharks), Joshua DA SILVA (NSWIS//Sutherland Sharks), Milos DEGENEK (NSWIS/Blacktown City Demons), Hernan ESPINDOLA (VIS/Brimbank), Michael FINLAYSON (NNSWIS/Macquarie), Giancarlo GALLIFUOCO (NSWIS/Sutherland Sharks), Alex GRANT (WA/ECU Joondalup), Shaun HARVEY (SASI/Modbury), Stevan ILIC (NSWIS/Sutherland Sharks), Aaron LIDDELL (Marconi Stallions ), Jessie MAKAROUNAS (WA/Inglewood), Quinn MCDONALD (VIS/Fawkner), Jake MONACO (SASI/Western Strikers), Hayden MORTON (NSWIS/Sutherland Sharks), Andrew MULLET (VIS/FC Bulleen Lions), Sahr MUSA (WA/Perth FC), Brodie PATERSON (VIS/Chelsea), Yianni PERKATIS (NSWIS/Marconi Stallions), Luke REMINGTON (NNSWIS/Macquarie), Daniel SADAKA (Sutherland Sharks), John SALARI (SASI/Campbelltown City), Lachlan TIBBLES (NSWIS/Marconi Stallions), Allan WELSH (Adelaide Galaxy) and Abe WHEELHOUSE (NNSWIS/Macquarie).