A-League clubs made their Cup debut in MD 2 with the Mariners in Melbourne, City in WA and Wanderers and Phoenix facing off in Sydney.

Arthur Papas' State side delivered the upset of the round when a late goal to Liam Boland - a 45 yard thunderbolt - stole a late win over Central Coast.

While in Sydney, Western Sydney Wanderers came from two goals down to defeat Wellington Phoenix 3-2 in another cracking match.

But it was at Green Gully reserve that the headlines were being written.

After a shocking A-League campaign in 2015/16 Mariners would have hoped for a brighter start to the new season. Instead they became just the second topflight side to be knocked out by an NPL outfit.

The match was not without controversy - a disalllowed goal to the Mariners and an offside equaliser for Green Gully. But the Victorian side won't worry after pushing Mariners all the way and snatching the win.

It was a night for goalscoring debuts with former Wanderers youth player of the year Lachlan Scott scoring a brace to level things with Phoenix before a 25-yard stunner from Mitch Nichols sealed the win.

Ex-Victory striker Kosta Barbarouses hit the back of the net for new club Phoenix while ex-Phoenix attacker Blake Powell opened his account with the Mariners.

Powell should also have had an assist when he laid off to Roy O'Donovan, but the Irishman was on the wrong end of a dodgy offside call.

In the other fixtures, Nick Fitzgerald's goal put the Melbourne City in front before the big hitters were given a scare when Athena hit back. It took a brilliant strike from Anthony Caceres to seal the win.

In South Australia a six-goal thriller came down to a penalty shootout after MetroStars veteran and A-League legend Travis Dodd levelled the scores at 3-3 in extra time.

But despite having the momentum going into the shootout, it was Bentleigh Greens who emerged victorious to progress to the Round of 16. 

Full report to follow

Green Gully 2 (Boland, 85' 90+2')

Central Coast Mariners 1 (Powell 15')

Green Gully Reserve, Keilor Downs (VIC

Western Sydney Wanderers 3 (Scott 40', 48', Nichols )

Wellington Phoenix 2 (Watson 8', Barbarouses 31')

Campbelltown Stadium, Leumeah (NSW) 

Floreat Athena 1 (Gate 59')

Melbourne City FC 2 (Fitzgerald 32', Caceres 65" )

Dorrien Gardens, West Perth (WA)

MetroStars 3 (3)

Bentleigh Greens 3 (4)

Elite Systems Football Centre, Angle Park (SA)