DeVere missed all of last season with a quadriceps injury and his start to preseason was further delayed by surgery.

The injury setback also cruelled the 26-year-old’s opportunities with the Socceroos after making his debut for the national team against Germany in March last year.

But in a good sign for Roar,

DeVere completed an assured 45 minutes alongside Jade North in the centre of defence.


"It was good to see Luke back out on the park again, he did well," said coach John Aloisi.

"He has returned a bit earlier than what we expected, his experience out on the park is important for us.

"You can see that it was only his first start but it was really positive to see him out there."

Brisbane’s early dominance paid off in the 33rd minute when Dimi Petratos fired a low and hard strike across goalkeeper Jake Reesby to open the scoring.

An on-song Jamie Maclaren was a constant threat in the first half with his clever movement causing the BPL Select defence plenty of problems.

The striker was rewarded in the 39th minute with his second goal in two pre-season outings to secure a 2-0 lead for the Roar at the break.

Former Roar player and BPL Select coach Warren Moon introduced an all-new 11 for the second half and the local stars did well to keep Roar scoreless for much of the second stanza.

Constant pressure from the A-League side finally took its toll, however on the BPL Select team though. In the 86th minute defender, Daniel Bowles turned home from close range a perfect low pass from Young Roar's Jesse Daley.

Roar's teenage winger Daniel Leck then completed the scoring two minutes later after excellent build-up play by Thomas Broich, Daley and Katebian.

Match Stats:

Brisbane Roar 4 (Petratos 33’, Maclaren 39’, Bowles 86’, Leck 88’)

Football Brisbane Flight Centre Premier League Select 0

Brisbane Roar FC: 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk) (1.Michael THEO 46’), 3. Luke DEVERE (4. Daniel BOWLES), 5.Corey BROWN, 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN (39.Nathan KONSTANDOLOPOUS 67’), 9.Jamie MACLAREN (33.Joey KATEBIAN), 13.Jade NORTH (35.Cameron CRESTANI 71’), 17.Matt MCKAY (c) (37.Mark RODIC 67’), 19.Jack HINGERT (8. Jacob PEPPER 46’), 22.Thomas BROICH (36.Jesse DALEY 76’), 23.Dimitri PETRATOS (34.Daniel LECK), 28.Brandon BORRELLO (11.Tommy OAR 46’),

BPL Select: 1.Jake REESBY (gk) (23.Brandon CUMINAO 46’), 2.Phil DAVIES (13.Kenya TAKAHASHI 46’), 5.Ajdin FETAHAGIC (3.Greg CHESHIRE 46’), 7.Nathan SHEPHERD (16.Dan SMITH 46’), 8.Dean BRIGGS (17.Sam ROPER 46’), 9.Marco JANKOVIC (19. Max BROWN 46’), 10.Marek MADLE (22.Sekou JOMANDAY 46’), 11.Lewis CAMERON (18.Thomas STRICKLAND 46’), 12. Takumi FUJITANI (Andre BONOTTO), 14.Michael RYAN (15.Uryu NAGTA), 20.Andrew MCCASKILL (21.Riley CAMPBELL)