Gombau has put his faith in those plying their trade in the A-League, with 19 of his 24-man squad with Australian clubs.

Stefan Mauk, Awer Mabil, Tom Glover, Daniel Nizic and Milos Popovic are the five players included from European sides, FourFourTwo understands.

But Leicester City’s Callum Elder, Bournemouth’s Jordan Holmes, ex-Liverpool midfielder Jake Brimmer, Burnley’s Aiden O’Neill and Scunthorpe United’s Cameron Burgess have been left out.

Gombau held a training camp for European-based players in Spain in March and then one for A-League players in Sydney in May.

Five players from Adelaide United made the final cut, while Western Sydney Wanderers and Newcastle Jets have three players each, with Melbourne Victory and Melbourne each supplying two players to the squad.

Sydney FC are the only A-League club not represented in the Under-23s squad.

It is believed the Olyroos will play two matches in the lead-up to the tournament in July, with fixtures against Central Coast Mariners and Western Sydney, before flying to Mynamar on July 15.

The qualifiers for next year’s AFC Championships in China will be held in Yangon in July. Australia will face Singapore, Myanmar and Brunei Darssalam in their group.

Olyroos squad:

Jonathan Aspropotamitis
George Blackwood
Joe Caletti
Devante Clut
Nicholas Cowburn
Thomas Deng
Scott Galloway
Thomas Glover
Paul Izzo
Lachlan Jackson
Bruce Kamau
Awer Mabil
Stefan Mauk
Riley McGee
Stefan Nigro
Daniel Nizic
Jordan O’Doherty
Miloslav Popovic
Liam Rose
Lachlan Scott
Jashua Sotirio
Ruon Tongyik
Benjamin Warland
Brandon Wilson