Antoine Griezmann has denied any claims he dived in France’s 2-1 win over Australia in Kazan on Saturday.
The French narrowly avoided embarrassment after Paul Pogba scored the winner by the finest of margins in the last 10 minutes of the game.
Griezmann was brought down by Josh Risdon early in the second-half and referee Andres Cunha called for a VAR review after it had looked like it was play-on.
The 27-year-old converted the penalty and was adamant it was a clear spot-kick.
“First of all, I felt the contact, for me it was a penalty and there was no whistle,” Greizmann said post-match.
France coach Didier Deschamps said he had not seen the replay of the foul and did not comment on the VAR.
Deschamps said his team wasn’t aggressive enough and criticised them for being too slow.
“We're very happy to have win today, we're in a good position,” Deschamps said.
“It was difficult and complicated, the Australian team were very good. We were not quick enough transmitting the ball, going forward and this favoured Australia.
“I won't give you explanations because it'll sound like excuses.
“We gave time to the Australian team, we didn't go close. Two things are important, transition and racing with the ball. Today it was a bit tricky.”