A missed penaltyby Maclaren in the 76th minute of Brisbane Roar's 4-3 win over Wellington Phoenix on Sunday stopped the Aussie from taking the award outright.

“Obviously I’m disappointed personally, I should have buried the penalty,” the Roar striker said. “I’ve scored five (from the spot this season) and the penalty wasn’t good enough."

Berisha joins Shane Smeltz as just the second player to win the A-League goals race twice. He last took the honour in 2011/12 at Brisbane Roar, also with 19 goals.

Last season's winner, Bruno Fornaroli, finished Melbourne City's campaign with 17 goals, well short of the 23 he scored in 2015/16.

The final round proved to be a milestone for both Berisha and Maclaren. 

Berisha became the first A-League player to score 100 goals - a feat reached in the 80th minute when he scored the winner in Victory's 1-0 defeat of Central Coast Mariners on Friday.

Maclaren hit the 50-goal mark on Sunday in the 53rd minute against Phoenix. And for the second season in a row he is the highest scoring Australian in the league.

The 23-year-old marksman will be hoping his A-League form will earn him a national team recall ahead of upcoming World Cup qualifiers and the Confederations Cup.