The biggest omission is Socceroos skipper Mile Jedinak, who has only just returned to full fitness after undergoing surgery for a groin injury. 

Aziz Behich, Adam Federici, Ajdin Hrustic, James Jeggo, Matthew Jurman and Riley McGree were the other players left off the initial 30-man squad.

Danny Vukovic and Awer Mabil are the only two in the final 23 without a cap to their name.

The Socceroos face Japan on August 31 in Tokyo, before hosting Thailand at AAMI Park in Melbourne on September 5. 

With only the top two advancing directly to the World Cup, and Australia sitting in third place, the remaining two qualifiers are must-wins for the Socceroos. 

“Throughout this qualification campaign we have looked to evolve and improve from match to match,” said Postecoglou.

“I believe that the players that we have named today are ready for these two very important matches.

“Our focus is to get a positive result against Japan and then look to finish the group stage with a win on home soil in Melbourne against Thailand,” concluded Postecoglou.

Full squad:  Mustafa AMINI (Aarhus Gymnastikforening (AGF), Denmark), Tim CAHILL (Melbourne City FC, Australia), Milos DEGENEK (Yokohama F. Marinos, Japan), Alex GERSBACH (Rosenborg BK, Norway), Jackson IRVINE (Burton Albion FC, England), Tomi JURIC (FC Luzern, Switzerland), Robbie KRUSE (VfL Bochum, Germany), Mitchell LANGERAK (VfB Stuttgart, Germany), Mathew LECKIE (Hertha BSC, Germany), Massimo LUONGO (Queens Park Rangers FC, England), Awer MABIL (F.C. Paços de Ferreira, Portugal), Jamie MACLAREN (SV Darmstadt 98, Germany), Ryan McGOWAN, Guizhou Zhicheng, China PR), Mark MILLIGAN (Melbourne Victory, Australia), Aaron MOOY (Huddersfield Town AFC, England), Tom ROGIC (Celtic FC, Scotland), Mathew RYAN (Brighton & Hove Albion FC, England), Trent SAINSBURY (Jiangsu Suning FC, China PR), Brad SMITH (AFC Bournemouth, England), Matthew SPIRANOVIC (Hangzhou Greentown FC, China PR), James TROISI (Melbourne Victory, Australia), Daniel VUKOVIC (KRC Genk, Belgium), Bailey WRIGHT (Bristol City FC, England)