With just two games remaining, Australia face Japan in Tokyo in late August before hosting Thailand at AAMI Park on September 5.

The Socceroos are third in the group, one point behind leaders Japan and equal on points with second-placed Saudi Arabia. 

Captain Mile Jedinak returns to the squad after missing out on the Confederations Cup with injury, along with Bournemouth defender Brad Smith.

Matthew Jurman receives his first call-up, with fellow teammates James Jeggo, Awer Mabil, Riley McGree and Danny Vukovic all looking to make their international debuts. 

“We haven’t strayed too far from the players who went to the Confederations Cup and who we have had on the radar for a while, so not a great deal of change at this stage,” Postecoglou said.

“There are a few new faces as well to have a look at, but overall pretty pleased with the shape we are in.

Full squad:  Mustafa AMINI (Aarhus Gymnastikforening (AGF), Denmark), Aziz BEHICH (Bursaspor, Turkey), Tim CAHILL (Melbourne City FC, Australia), Milos DEGENEK (Yokohama F. Marinos, Japan) Adam FEDERICI (AFC Bournemouth, England), Alex GERSBACH (Rosenborg BK, Norway) Ajdin HRUSTIC (FC Groningen, Netherlands), Jackson IRVINE (Burton Albion FC, England, Mile JEDINAK (Aston Villa FC, England), James JEGGO (SK Sturm Graz, Austria), Tomi JURIC (FC Luzern, Switzerland), Matthew JURMAN( Suwon Samsung Bluewings, Korea Republic), Robbie KRUSE (VfL Bochum, Germany), Mitchell LANGERAK (VfB Stuttgart, Germany), Mathew LECKIE (Hertha BSC, Germany), Massimo LUONGO (Queens Park Rangers FC, England), Awer MABIL (F.C. Paços de Ferreira, Portugal), Jamie MACLAREN (SV Darmstadt 98, Germany), Ryan McGOWAN, Guizhou Zhicheng, China PR, Riley McGREE (Club Brugge KV, Belgium), Mark MILLIGAN (Melbourne Victory, Australia), Aaron MOOY (Huddersfield Town AFC, England), Tom ROGIC (Celtic FC, Scotland), Mathew RYAN (Brighton & Hove Albion FC, England), Trent SAINSBURY (Jiangsu Suning FC, China PR), Brad SMITH (AFC Bournemouth, England), Matthew SPIRANOVIC (Hangzhou Greentown FC, China PR), James TROISI (Melbourne Victory, Australia), Daniel VUKOVIC (KRC Genk, Belgium), Bailey WRIGHT (Bristol City FC, England)