Josh Risdon claims the officials made the wrong call in giving a penalty against him yesterday in Australia’s World Cup loss to France.
After a check with the VAR, a controversial penalty was awarded for Risdon hauling down Antoine Griezmann in the second half. Griezmann converted the penalty to put France 1-0 in front.
Risdon believes he got the ball first before touching the Les Bleus striker.
“I thought I got the first touch on the ball,” the fullback said.
“It might have been a little touch but I definitely felt like I clipped the ball. I haven’t seen the replays yet but I think he hits my trailing leg running into the box.
“When the referee didn’t give it initially I honestly thought the decision would not be overturned because it wasn’t a clear-cut wrong decision. But I just picked myself up and got back into the game.”
The Socceroos were on the wrong side of football history, with the VAR decision the first time the video referee has been called on in a World Cup.
"My understanding is that obviously if its a clear-cut wrong decision then it can get overturned but I felt like I definitely got the ball so therefore I don’t think it was a clear-cut wrong decision,” Risdon said.
“I don’t know ... it seems to be a bit of a grey area. At the end of the day you can’t do much about it.