Skipper Matt McKay announced his retirement from professional football earlier this month, while triple-Championship winner Henrique & Danish international Thomas Kristensen also confirmed that 2018/19 would be their final season in Brisbane orange.

It was confirmed at Sunday's BRFC Gala that defender Luke DeVere & former Socceroos attacker Brett Holman would also be departing at season's end.

But today the club revealed Eric Bautheac, Eli Babalj, Joe Caletti, Charles Lokoli-Ngoy, Alex Lopez, Tobias Mikkelsen, Stefan Nigro and Ruon Tongyik won't return next season either.

"Brisbane Roar would like to thank all departing players for their contribution to the club and wish them all the best for the future," Brisbane Roar CEO David Pourre said.

Former Liverpool legend Robbie Fowler was confirmed as the club's coach for next season last week.