A hat-trick from Glen Trifiro ensured victory for the Football NSW and former NSL club, as well as an automatic spot in next year’s FFA Cup Round of 32.

Trifiro was named the John Kosmina Medallist for a second time after he also took out the accolade when Sydney United 58 FC won the inaugural title in 2013.

The result ensured the trophy stayed in NSW for the second successive year after Blacktown City took the title in 2015.Β 

The visiting Edgeworth Eagles, who recorded impressive away wins over Bentleigh Greens and Perth SC to reach the decider, started brightly in front of a strong contingent of travelling supporters but went into the break trailing 2-0 after goals from Panny Nikas and Trifiro.

Edgeworth’s Japanese star Keigo Moriyasu put the Northern NSW club back into the contest with 20 minutes to go when he found the back of the net on the follow up after Sydney United 58 goalkeeper Thomas Manos had saved his initial penalty effort.

But two more quality strikes from Trifiro on the counter attack as Edgeworth chased the game ended any hope of a grandstand finish.

Sydney United 58 FC and Head Coach Mark Rudan finished their year on a high with victory in the match to decide the best PlayStation 4 NPL club in the country.

It caps off a tidy silverware haul for the side after also grabbing premiership and Waratah Cup titles this season.

Sydney United 58 FC 4 (Nikas 17’, Trifiro 29’/78/88’)

Edgeworth Eagles 1 (Moriyasu 69’)

Sunday 2 October 2016

Sydney United Sports Centre, Edensor Park NSW

Referee: Alex King

Sydney United 58 FC starting line-up: 21.Thomas Manos (gk), 2.Kristopher Vlismas, 3.Masato Mochizuki (20.Tomislav Uskok 64’), 6.Chris Payne (10.Robert Mileski 83’), 7.Yutaro Shin (11.Nikola Taneski 88’), 8.Peter Triantis, 14.Nicholas Stavroulakis (c), 17.Theo Kofinas, 18.Glen Trifiro, 19.Matthew Bilic, 23.Panagiotis Nikas

Substitutes not used: 5.Nathan Bertolissio, 30.Luke Babic (gk)

Yellow cards: Vlismas 23’, Stavroulakis 68’

Red cards: Nil

Edgeworth Eagles starting line-up: 1.Jim Fogarty (gk), 2.Daniel McBreen (8.Daniel Minors 90’), 3.Domenico Bizzarri, 4.Patrick Wheeler, 5.Ayden Brice, 7.Bren Abbott-Hammel (9.Brody Taylor 69’), 10.Keanu Moore, 11.Dylan Holz, 15.Josh Evans (c), 17.Keigo Moriyasu, 19.Aaron McLoughlin (12.Aden Gardner 76’)

Substitutes not used: 6.Lachlan Pasquale, 20.Joshua Low (gk)

Yellow cards: Wheeler 10’, McBreen 27’, Holz 63’, Bizzarri 83’

Red cards: Nil