Brisbane Roar ended a horror week - in which they were bundled out of the ACL playoffs - by grabbing all three points with a 2-1 win over Central Coast Mariners in Gosford on Saturday.

But it was Brama’s 94th minute tackle on the injury-plagued Roar substitute that emerged as the main talking point as the Dutchman went in with his studs on Gameiro’s  shin.

Video replays showed the 24-year-old striker's leg buckling unnaturally, sparking an immediate reponse from teammates and fans. Gameiro has undergone three knee reconstructions in recent years.

Brama, 31, initially shown a yellow, was hit with a straight red after consultation with the VAR.

The incident marred what should have been a big night for Roar with Brett Holman and Matt McKay both on the scoresheet, sending the Queensland outfit into the top six.

Fox Sports pundit Mark Bosnich called the tackle “disgusting” and called for a lengthy ban.

“He’s very very fortunate that Corey Gameiro’s not injured.  We do not want to see tackles like that in our game fullstop. I’d suspend him for six weeks.

Fellow commentator and A-League legend, Archie Thompson went even further.

"And Gameiro too, he’s just a boy that’s been plagued with injury over the last few years," Thompson said. "A tackle like that could end someone’s career.

"It’s disgusting. As an ex-professional  you don’t want to see players do things like this especially  to harm someone else, because his intent, was not at all to win that ball but to literally break the boy’s leg.

"Lucky for Gameiro, who’s had a tough spell of injuries, it’s not as serious as it could have been. That could have easily been a broken leg."

Roar coach John Aloisi said his Mariners counterpart, Paul Okon, approach Gameiro post-match leading to a heated exchange.

"Corey Gameiro was nearly in tears because he’s been out for such a long period with three knee recons and he was a little bit emotional," Aloisi told Fox Sports.

"And Paul Okon didn’t do anything wrong he just went up to Corey to see how he was and there was a bit of words exchanged.

"But both of them have got no issues – it was just in the heat of the moment."

Okon said he didn't see the incident clearly.

Yeah I, it was too far away, I didn't see the replay," he told Fox Sports. "So, if VAR thinks it's a red card, it's a red card. I didn't see it so I can't really comment. I'll just have to go by what the VAR ruled."

MAIN PHOTO: Okon talks with Roar players following the tackle.