As part of the preparations for next year's AFC U19 Championships in Myanmar, the Young Socceroos are staging a series of training get-togethers.

The championships in October will double as qualifiers for the FIFA U20 World Cup in New Zealand in 2015.

Okon has selected a 23-man squad for a three-day camp at the AIS. Overseas-based players in Europe took part in a training camp in September.

The former Socceroo will be going through the process of identifying a larger pool of players, starting with this first camp.

“The players (will) need to be on their toes,” Okon told “We will be working on our playing style.

“Over the coming months we will be running a number of these camps that will allow me to see the quality of these players.

“This is a great opportunity for these players to come into a national team camp environment and see how they adapt both on and off the field.”

Okon declined to name the players that have impressed him during the current National Youth League season.

Several of those selected have senior A-League experience, including the Heart’s Ben Garuccio, Sydney FC’s Aaron Calver and Hagi Gligor, Victory’s Scott Galloway, Adelaide’s Mabil and Perth pair Riley Woodcock and De Silva.

Gligor, Galloway and De Silva also played for Australia at the U20 World Cup in Turkey earlier this year.

The Young Socceroos qualified for the Myanmar tournament after finishing as one of the top six second-ranked teams at the AFC U19 Championships in Malaysia in October.

The Young Socceroos were second in their group after defeating Hong Kong 7-0, Chinese Taipei 3-0 and losing to Vietnam 5-1.

Full Squad:
Daniel Alessi (Western Sydney Wanderers), Shannon Brady (Brisbane Roar), Brandon Borello (Brisbane Roar), Aaron Calver (Sydney FC), Devante Clut (Brisbane Roar), Keegan Coulter – GK (Melbourne Victory), Shayne D’Cunha (West Sydney Wanderers), Daniel De Silva (Perth Glory), Scott Galloway (Melbourne Victory), Ben Garuccio (Melbourne Heart), Hagi Gligor (Sydney FC), Anthony Kalik (AIS), Michael Kantarovski (Newcastle Jets), Awer Mabil (Adelaide United), Joshua Macdonald (Sydney FC), Marc Marino (AIS), Tristan Prendergast – GK (Sydney FC), Liam Rose (AIS), Jaushua Sotirio (Western Sydney Wanderers), Jordan Thurtell – GK (AIS), Jaiden Walker (Brisbane Roar), Ben Warland (AIS), Riley Woodcock (Perth Glory).