An action-packed and high quality match proved a fitting finale to the season with Canberra completing an unbeaten season in front of a capacity crowd at their Belconnen home ground.

Michelle Heyman crowned a remarkable season with a double to take her season tally to 15 goals.

The prolific striker opened the scoring with Ashleigh Sykes soon doubling the lead Heyman as Canberra threatened to run riot against the defending champions.

However, Roar super sub Emily Gielnik scored within seconds of entering the field on 21 minutes with the match settling into a high tempo.

Heyman restored the two-goal advantage just past the hour mark, only for Tameka Butt to then score from the penalty spot with the Matildas attacker having now scored in all four Westfield W-League grand finals.

Canberra’s win meant they went through all 12 matches without defeat while Jitka Klimkova became the first female to coach a team to the Westfield W-League crown.

Westfield W-League 2011/12 Grand Final Review

Canberra United 3 (Michelle Heyman 10’, 55’, Ashleigh Sykes 17’
Brisbane Roar 2 (Emily Gielnik 21’, Tameka Butt 63’ pen)
Saturday 28 January
McKellar Park, Canberra
Local kick-off: 3pm
Crowd: 2,512 (SOLD OUT)

Referee: Kate Jacewicz / Alison Flynn / Sarah Ho / Casey Riebelt

Canberra United: Lydia WILLIAMS, Caitlin COOPER, Ellie BRUSH, Hayley RASO (Emma Kete 69’), Grace GILL (Caitlin MUNOZ 76’) , Michelle HEYMAN, Nicole SYKES, Ashleigh SYKES, Sally SHIPARD, Taryn HEMMINGS, Jennifer BISSET

Substitutes not used: Georgia YEOMAN-DALE, Snez VELJANOVSKA, Aroon CLANSEY (gk)
Yellow cards: Sally Shipard 37’
Red cards: Nil

Brisbane Roar: Casey DUMONT (gk), Laura ALLEWAY (Olga CEBRIAN-GARCIA 84’), Clare POLKINGHORNE (Ellen Beaumont 71’), Brooke SPENCE, Joanne BURGESS (Emily GIELNIK 21’), Kim CARROLL, Catherine CANNULI, Lana HARCH, Aivi LUIK, Tameka BUTT, Vedrana POPOVIC

Substitutes not used: Hoshimi KISHI, Rebecca PRICE
Yellow cards: Emily Gielnik 50’, Laura Alleway 60’
Red cards: Nil