After a tense start, the Futsalroos opened the scoring in the 13th minute through Fernando De Moraes who hit the underside of the crossbar with a powerful shot from the top of the D.  The lead was doubled a few minutes later when Toby Seeto hit a shot from distance and placed it neatly past the unsighted Vietnamese goalkeeper.

Early in the second half, Vietnam pulled a goal back when Truong Quoc Tua was left unmarked and slotted into an empty net after the Qantas Futsalroos goalkeeper, Angelo Konstantinou, came off his line to intercept a pass.

Midway through the second half Toby Seeto scored his second goal of the match when Greg Giovenali found him with a well-placed free-kick.  Seeto's deft left-footed finish restoring the Qantas Futsalroos two goal lead going into the final stages of the match.

Fernando De Moraes sealed the result two minutes from time when he beat his defender out wide, cut inside and appeared to be fouled but the referee played advantage. In the process of falling De Moraes was able to get a foot to the ball and slid it past the keeper. 

Futsalroos head coach Steven Knight was absolutely delighted that his team had achieved their goal of qualification.

"The result was what we came here for, that being qualification for the AFC Futsal Championship," said Knight

"I have been very impressed with how the players, especially the younger ones, have stepped up at the international level and the discipline that they have shown throughout the tournament.

"We are still looking forward to playing in tomorrow's final and the experience that we are gathering along the way will be very valuable for future tournaments," added Knight. 

In the other semi-final, host nation Indonesia came from a goal down to defeat Malaysia 5-3.

The Futsalroos will now face Indonesia in the final of the AFC Futsal Championship ASEAN Zone qualifiers on Thursday 25 February, whilst Malaysia will meet Vietnam in the third place play-off match.

AFC Futsal Championship ASEAN Zone qualifiers take place from 20-25 February in Jakarta with the top three teams qualifying for the 2010 AFC Futsal Championships which will be played in Tashkent, Uzbekistan, from 23-30 May.