The result continues the bizarre ratio of results in matches between the two teams.

In nine competitive fixtures between the Central Coast and Queensland, seven have ended in draws, meaning the Mariners have not defeated Frank Farina’s charges since their inaugural Pre-Season Cup fixture in July 2005 – eight matches ago.

In his first-ever start for the yellow and navy, defender Nigel Boogaard handed the Mariners an early lead, before Simon Lynch equalised for the Roar early in the second half.

The results sees the Mariners maintain their lead at the top of Group B on five points, ahead of the Roar on two, Sydney FC on one and the Wellington Phoenix on zero, though Sydney FC and the Phoenix are set to meet in the New Zealand capital tomorrow afternoon.

The Mariners took the lead early on, much as they did against the Wellington Phoenix one week earlier, with Australian youth international Boogaard capitalising on a neat free kick from new signing Dean Heffernan.

Boogaard out-jumped the Roar defence to hand the Mariners the lead after just six minutes – also delivering the first ever top-flight football goal to the people of Orange.

Goal scorer Boogaard and supplier Heffernan were two of the three new faces in the Mariners’ starting eleven, along with goal keeper Matthew Trott, each of whom were introduced at the expense of Tony Vidmar, Nik Mrdja and Danny Vukovic, the former of which was sidelined through illness.

The Mariners’ 2007 Pre-Season Cup campaign continues next Sunday, 29 July, when they return to the nations capital following their brief sojourn one month ago to take on southern rivals Sydney FC at Canberra Stadium. Kick off is at 3pm.

Match Details
Central Coast Mariners
Matthew Trott (gk), Andre Gumprecht, John Hutchinson, Dean Heffernan, Tom Pondeljak (Bradley Porter 85’), Nigel Boogaard, Matthew Osman, Alex Wilkinson, Adam Kwasnik (Nik Mrdja 46’), Sasho Petrovski, Mile Jedinak

Unused Subs Paul O’Grady, Danny Vukovic (gk)

Yellow Cards None
Red Cards None

Goals Boogaard 6’

Queensland Roar
Liam Reddy (gk), Josh McCloughan, Massimo Murdocca, Simon Lynch (Ante Milicic 68’), Reinaldo (Stuart McLaren 87’), Tahj Minniecon (Mitch Nichols 40’), Ben Griffin, Matt McKay, Danny Tiatto, Sasa Ognenovski, Chris Grossman

Unused Subs Griffin McMaster (gk)

Yellow Cards None
Red Cards None

Goals Lynch 59’

Referee James Lewis