They were drawn in the South Zone and will kick off their campaign in Argentina, with the North Zone games being played in Colombia.

Qatar were drawn in the North Zone and will face Brazil, Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador and Peru.

The Socceroos - competing as a specially invited guest nation, along with Qatar - will play their first match against Uruguay on June 13.

They are scheduled to play Paraguay on June 17 in La Plata, Bolivia on June 22 in La Plata again, Argentina on June 26 in Buenos Aires and Chile on June 30 back in Cordoba once more.

All dates are local times, and venues are not yet confirmed, with the Argentina clash possibly being held in River Plate's El Monumental stadium instead of Boca Juniors' La Bombonera as originally planned.

The top four from each group will proceed to the knockout stages. No guest nation has won the Copa, with Mexico coming closest by reaching the final in 1993 and 2001.


The best way to see the Socceroos at Copa America

The Socceroos have found out who they face in next year’s star-studded Copa America – and we have the details on how you can follow them on an unforgettable trip through South America!

“The Copa America is the oldest international football competition in the world and we are honoured to have received an invitation to compete,” said Socceroos coach Graham Arnold.

“With the draw now complete we will ramp up our logistical planning and scouting over the coming months, while maintaining full focus on the final four fixtures we have in round two of World Cup qualifying.

“Adding the Copa America to our schedule next year will mean that the Socceroos will play at least 14 matches throughout 2020.

"This will mean that there are plenty of matches for fans to enjoy, but also provide us with the chance to work consistently with the squad as we prepare for round three of World Cup qualification.”